• Prometheus Celiac Plus

    Serology, Genetics & Answers
  • Prometheus Diagnostic Services


Here you can learn more about celiac disease and how it is diagnosed and treated. We encourage you to use the information on this site to discuss celiac disease with your doctor. With an accurate diagnosis and diet management, most people with celiac disease can lead full, active lives. Nearly 3 million Americans have celiac disease but only about 100,000 are diagnosed. In fact, the average patient is not diagnosed with celiac disease until 11 years after first experiencing symptoms of the disease. A diagnosis of celiac disease can be challenging since symptoms may include intestinal gas, bloating, abdominal cramping, diarrhea or constipation. These may seem like Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) or Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). Only a doctor can put all the parts of the puzzle together to make a diagnosis.


Diagnosing celiac disease can be challenging. Laboratory tests help doctors diagnose the disease so that patients can take steps to manage their diet and prevent complications.
Why it makes sense to get tested for celiac disease?

Read More


For most people, eating a gluten-free diet will stop symptoms, heal existing intestinal damage, and prevent further damage. Gluten is found in cereal grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. Flour and other products of wheat also contains gluten. Many soups, sauces, cold cuts, and gravy also contains gluten, so it's important to read food labels and talk to a dietician.

Read More


The PROMETHEUS® Celiac PLUS is a highly specialized blood test that gives your doctor comprehensive information about your personal blood components and genetic makeup. This information helps your doctor determine whether you have celiac disease now or if you are likely to have it.

Read More

The Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten is found in the cereal grains, wheat, rye, and barley. That means flour and other wheat-based products contains gluten, but so do many foods you may not suspect, such as soups, soy sauce, sauces, cold cuts, and gravy. While oats don’t contains gluten, they are often contaminated, so unless they’re declared gluten-free, oats should be avoided, too. It’s important to regularly read food labels and talk to a dietician to find out what you can include in a gluten-free diet.